AFO Hatfield Scholars Lunch - 2021 - POSTPONED!

By Architecture Foundation of Oregon (other events)

Monday, May 24 2021 12:00 PM 1:15 PM PST

You're invited to a very special virtual lunch to celebrate AFO's Hatfield Architectural Award and meet this year’s recipient!

Please join us at this event as we:

  • introduce the 2021 award recipient, Josymar Rodriguez, UO M.Arch. candidate (pictured at left)

  • hear from our guest speaker, John Folan, head of the Department of Architecture and professor at the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas. John is also director of the Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS), which he founded in 2008 while appointed as the T. David Fitz-Gibbon Chair in Architecture at Carnegie Mellon University. Through the UDBS and other collaborative ventures, Folan has made a commitment to work with underrepresented communities on the development and implementation of catalytic projects through participatory design processes. His work prioritizes public interest, social justice and equity as a productive end.

  • acknowledge previous Hatfield Scholars

  • announce an exciting new scholarship!

Your ticket purchase entitles you to $5 off any order for 5/24 at Hot Lips Pizza! We will send details after you register.

The event will be closed captioned.

Be sure to enter one or both of our raffles:

Thorns Game! You'll receive 8 seats in the Turner Construction suite for a 2021 game.  Winner will find a mutually agreeable date with the Turner team.  Food and beverages are not included.

Summer cocktail package! One beautiful bottle of Freeland Spirits gin + twelve Hot Lips sodas variety pack = light and fruity drinks!

Your purchase of a raffle ticket helps AFO serve Oregon architecture students and sustain this scholarship for years to come. 

Event Sponsor: 


Sustaining Sponsor: 

Hoffman Construction Company

<---image is of this year's scholar, Josymar Rodriguez

The Senator Mark O. Hatfield Architectural Award was established in 1998 to annually recognize an Oregon architecture student for their design promise and community service. Since 1998, AFO has awarded 25 scholarships to exceptional students, many of whom now practice in the Northwest and around the world.